Monthly Archives: October 2011

Supernaturally by Kiersten White

Supernaturally, the second book in Kiersten White’s bestselling Pararnormalcy series, details the further adventures of Evie, the teenage heroine who can see through the “glamors” of paranormal creatures. At the end of Paranormalcy, we saw Evie cut her ties with the IPCA (International Paranormal Containment Agency) for whom she “bagged and tagged”  paranormal creatures and start a new life with Lend, his father, and his alternative network of paranormals. Supernaturally begins with Evie living the life she always wanted: she has a boyfriend, she goes to high school (she even has a locker), and she still watches her favorite show, Easton Heights.

Evie gets everything she thought she ever wanted and, of course, it’s not what she thought it would be. Life as a normal person is, well, normal and rather boring. High school is nothing like Easton Heights: no lovers quarrel in the hallways, no drama, just a gym teacher who hates Evie. And her perfect boyfriend, Lend? He’s great, when he’s around. He’s just never around, too busy with college and studying.

Evie is ripe for the picking when Raquel shows up with an offer: come back to the IPCA on a case-by-case basis. To sweeten the deal, she introduces Evie to Jack, a mortal who can travel the faerie paths, keeping Evie safe from the faeries like Reth who continue to threaten her with vague innuendo about her background. Evie is back to feeling special and, naturally, hijinks ensue.

For fans of Evie, Supernaturally is a must-read. As you may have guessed, White has a third book planned, Endlessly, completing the trilogy. As a stand-alone book, however, Supernaturally has some drawbacks.  Paranormalcy was irreverent, fun, and Evie was, and is, a natural heroine. Her life, over the course of the novel had become much more complicated, and White keeps adding to the number of plot points in the air. The second installment in the trilogy feels weighed down by the many facets in play: faerie drama, Lend’s immortality, Evie’s role at the IPCA, Evie’s family history, etc. White is clearing laying the groundwork for the final installment in the trilogy, where all will (hopefully) be revealed.  We have a feeling is will be bleeping fantastic.

Why you might love this book: Evie is one of my favorite heroines and she is bleeping funny.

Why you might not love this book: The book is over-encumbered with plot, and sometimes feels more like a set up for the next and final installment.

Rating: 3 out of 5 black cats.

Publisher: HarperTeen (2011)
ISBN-10: 0061985864
ISBN-13: 978-0061985867

Advertisements